My story and how I made sense of everything

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Mar 26 - 11AM
randomflag
randomflag's picture

My story and how I made sense of everything

This website has been a lifeline for me since October when my life nearly fell apart. I am nearly 100% recovered and I want to share my story because I know how difficult and painful it can be. Believe me, I have been there and there were times I thought I would never recover. You have to listen when I tell you that No Contact is the only way this can be done. It’s very difficult for them to change. You can’t change other people, you can only change yourself and you are worth so much more.

I am not an expert but I believe the reason narcissists exist is because their self-esteem is destroyed and in order to feel safe they need people. However, people don’t like to be used therefore they have to make out like they have something to offer…so we fall for them. In reality, they have nothing to offer and all to receive. Don’t give them what they want.

Here’s my story…

I spent 2012 feeling empty inside. I thought it was my job, my friends and even my fiancé that caused me to feel like this. Consequently, I changed my job, started to make new friends and talked to my fiancé. Nothing could fill this emptiness inside me. I was fully functioning but I was searching for something. I was being bullied at work but at the time I didn’t think this was the issue. I didn’t realise I was being bullied.

A friend of mine commented on the fact that I was being bullied and she went great lengths to help me. She spent her evenings online trying to get information on bullying at work and what I needed to do. I had been spending a lot of time with a friend and almost overnight I started to dream about kissing her. I had never had feelings for a female before and I started to think that my emptiness was down to my sexuality. Could I be gay? I never felt sexually attracted to her though, only emotionally.